Tiny Roadtrip Haibun by Theresa Williams

HAIBUN

At Tia Buena’s in Red River, New Mexico

A baggy of water is tacked above the door to keep the flies out. She runs a clean establishment, she says, and doesn’t do grease. She cooks eggs in the microwave, will dribble real milk in your coffee, a sprinkle of sugar, but you have to ask because she keeps them in the back kitchen. In the last infestation, she says, mice ate everything but the artificial sweetener, even the Styrofoam cups.

fly deposits
speck on
my white napkin

***

I have haibun published or forthcoming in Haibun Today, Contemporary Haibun Online, and Barnwood International Poetry Journal. I also have poetry in Segue 8 and a number of print journals. I’ve published short stories in The Sun, Chattahoochee Review, and Hunger Mountain. My novel, The Secret of Hurricanes, was published by MacAdam/Cage in 2002 and was a finalist for the Paterson Fiction Prize.

One thought on “Tiny Roadtrip Haibun by Theresa Williams

  1. LOL, this one tickles me every time. I keep noticing that there is a typo in my bio note, though: I wrote: published “of” forthcoming and it should be published “or” forthcoming. I’m planning to do some traveling this summer and write more haibun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

