Lucy Lyon: Glass Artist

Southwestern Glass Artist: Lucy Lyon

Whenever I go in to the LewAllen Gallery on Palace I look to see if there are glass sculptures by Lucy Lyon. My favorites have been the libraries–walls of glass books with a lone figure sitting and reading. The colors of the volumes mutate and change. The pieces are called things like “Morning” and “Night” as if reading takes us out of time. I like the sense of that solitary figure surrounded by the words I imagine inscribed on those tiny flat volumes. I like that someone is reading.
Other of her sculptures show figures standing line, with spaces both intimate and alienated between them. Practically my favorite thing in the world is to read. One of my absolutely least favorite activities is standing on line. But these figure express it well. Some are in their own worlds, some chat with each other. Some accept the stasis, some want to edge the line forward. And one figure is bent over a book, passing the time, reading.

http://www.lewallencontemporary.com

Leave a Reply

