Sheila Ortego on Time

I’ve known Sheila Ortego for many years, as a writer and even as the president of SFCC. Now she is “retired” and running a bead business and blogging. She writes:

“…you have to MAKE time to do the things that are important to you. It’s never going to give itself to you willingly. (Time, that is.) We’re all going to have different versions of this story, but here’s my average day, and I’m RETIRED!!! I really don’t even want to think about how I juggled everything when I was working. (Nor do I want to talk about all the time it took to get The Bead started up as a small business…).  I think there must be some sort of ‘work adrenaline’ in your brain that makes you able to bear the crushing burden of a “day job”, and sometimes two jobs, and sometimes two jobs and a family. And some people do even more. So back to my average day lately:
7 – 8 a.m. Get up, shower, and go through a regimen of about 25 pills and special tonics for a variety of health issues about evenly distributed between me, my husband and my elderly dog; squeeze breakfast preparation in there somewhere, usually something easy like oatmeal or cereal or boiled eggs;
8 – 8:30 a.m. Walk the dog
8:30 – 9:00 a.m. Drive across town to get to my 88 year old mother’s house so I can:
(from 9 – 11:30 a.m.) …get her to the grocery store, doctor’s office, home improvement store (her favorite place), or one of her other current projects (or needs);
11:30 – 12:30 Have lunch somewhere with mom
12:45/1 – 2:00 p.m. Tackle the chores at mom’s house that she needs or wants help with. This time of year, it’s raking and bagging endless leaves covering her half-acre homesite, or winterizing her fish pond, or cleaning the kitchen and floors, or purging her freezer of antique and questionable “food” she’s left there for too long, or hauling Christmas decorations out of the attic, or getting up on a ladder to change a light bulb (to keep her from getting on the ladder when I’m not around), etc. – you get the drift.
2:00 p.m. – 2:30 Drive home to beat the bad rush hour that seems to start around 3 or 3:30
3:30 – 4:00 Figure out something for dinner & prep

4:00 – 5:00 p.m. Get started on business-related duties. Stuff like taking photographs, loading up a few of the backlogged items I’ve never had time to load up onto the Etsy shop site, do a few marketing things on various social media sites, etc. Try to get as much done before my husband gets home from doing his projects and starts pestering me to do the same kind of stuff for his own EBay shop, because he isn’t too technology savvy and also isn’t too eager to learn a bunch of new computer/social media stuff at this point in his life.
5 – 6 p.m. Finish/Eat Dinner!!
6: – 6:30 p.m. Repeat medication/tonic regimen for the sickly trio (me, hubby and dog)
6:30 – 6:45 p.m. Give the dog another short walk, per vet’s recommendation
6:45 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. More business related work that I didn’t have time to do before dinner (blog writing, bookkeeping, bead organizing, correspondence, etc.)
8: – 9 p.m. If I’m not passing out, as I do sometimes because my body seems to require a LOT of sleep, I watch something on TV with my husband or read part of a book.
9 p.m. Pass Out.”

Read more at http://www.thebead.net/index.php/the-bead-blog/280-time-time-time

Leave a Reply

