I Knew I Was Beaten by Miriam Sagan

Here is my re-blog for poetry month:

I Knew I Was Beaten

in the middle of the Mohave
doing my laundry
in a trailer park
by moonlight
on winter solstice
in a desert hotspring
listening to two beat up old white guys
pick electric guitar
play a synthesizer
one with a cane
one with a Santa hat
in front of a glittering X-mas tree
and I was weeping
to a Hank Williams song
with the word whippoorwill
in it

I’ve done laundry
a lot of strange places
but here, among an audience
drinking whiskey
from styrofoam cups
I realized my sorrow
was the same
as everyone elses
and I forgot
I was a Russian Jew
born in New York City
for at the age of fifty-nine
I was just any lady
beating time with her hand
and I had finally
entered America
and I was beaten.

6 thoughts on “I Knew I Was Beaten by Miriam Sagan

Leave a Reply

