Carole MacRury on Tanka

Carole MacRury on Tanka
She says: I write it because it brings me closer to my free verse roots, and it allows me to focus more on the personal than lyrical verse does. Like Haiku, it is condensed and can be powerful little poems. I’ve explored many themes in tanka. Here’s a link to my e-book, “The Tang of Nasturtiums”, which won the snapshot press e-book award. http://www.snapshotpress.co.uk/ebooks.htm

***

Some examples from this elegantly done collection:

in my closet
clothes for all occasions
yet the years
it took to be comfortable
in my own skin

this beach glass
scoured a cloudy blue
so like your eyes
fading and emptying
to a relentless tide

She also recommends:
http://www.tankaonline.com/

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

One thought on “Carole MacRury on Tanka

  1. Here is my tanka:

    late night
    interrupted sleep
    cramps in legs and toes
    pure horror
    and unwanted phone calls

    Kind Regards

    Gert

Leave a Reply

