Alana Woods on “Plaza Antiques”

PLAZA ANTIQUES
I was feeling tired from a long drive to Las Vegas. As I  parked the car, my attention was directed to an antique store near the hotel.
I stepped through the door and a first it was overwhelming. A plethora of things from the past, all the memories, family, children, grandparents, love, drama,joy. We leave our impression on things we touch.

The store cat was curled up on a children’s chair, giving the impression she was asleep, as cats do, slyly keeping her closed eyes but really omnipresent to everything around them.

I wandered though the rooms, taking in what I could and smelling an oldness tinged with what smelled like talcum powder. I said to the antique dealer “I always wondered how one could make a living selling antiques”.

“Oh, people do buy” he reassured me, fondly holding a silver candle snuffer. “they love to hold onto objects from their past that  bring a warmth of memory, of love”.

This brought my remembrance of stories I had heard of war days in Europe when many children lost their parents, and were sheltered in orphanages, and were given a piece of bread or even a stone to hold at night, which helped them go to sleep.

The antique dealer moved behind a counter and pointed out a bowl of water in which swam a single goldfish. “Oh, I have several cats and they like to jump up here and lap the water in the bowl. And would you believe? The fish swims up to b licked by the cats”.

He moved toward the front window. “…and here is our resident  spider in her webbed castle” There in the corner of the window sat a fat delicate brown spider in a large web.

“I spriz her with water once a week,” he continued,” I give her a little drink”.
“Oh, I said, I didn’t know spiders needed water”‘

“I don’t’ know, but I give her a little drink'”he replied quietly.

***

Alana Woods, from Albuquerque, NM has just written a Memoir “The Song I Hear -my life with music” ( available in 2). Has spent a life time involved in sound and music from early childhood. She created a pioneer work in Music Medicine (prescriptive sound) inspired by a visit in Greece.  Web www.soundvistas.com.

20150719_152656

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

Leave a Reply

