Suminagashi & Poetry

IMG_1484

IMG_1485

IMG_1486

IMG_1490

Spilled Ink #8

I drop two drops
of purple ink,
it doesn’t print
exactly what you see
or what you think
not the mod blob
I’ve placed on the bottom
but these scrim of pattern
unraveling.Add blue
this earth is turning
as a child
I thought that if I jumped
off the back porch steps
I’d hang in air
and in that instant
the fast spinning globe would turn
and I’d land
somewhere other
than my mother’s yard
if not China, at least
Pennsylvania.

Green swales down
around a violet egg
I like this one
I’m doing what you’re not
supposed to do
pulling one print after another
off the water’s surface,
and adding white, islands appear
like continents seen by satellite,
and the last piece
mostly pale yellow blank
with just a corner of wave
like something Japanese
just waiting for a poem
about red leaves and a cabin
screened, where sleep is dark and undisturbed
and dawn’s light scatters into
suminagashi.

IMG_1491

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

One thought on “Suminagashi & Poetry

  1. Pingback: Suminagashi & Poetry | hollowxlungs

Leave a Reply

