My Juvenilia Gets Semi-Panned in the Harvard Crimson When I’m an Ungrad

One fascination of the internet is that things don’t stay dead…old things surface, lost things re-appear. Imagine my shock when ego-surfing to discover a not very complimentary review of my first chapbook (Dangerous Body, Samisdat) publshed when I was an undergrad.
I just have to share a few of the remarks: “If Sagan’s style isn’t always consistent or striking, it seems, at least, pretty much her own….In “Lost at Sea” the religious imagery is gratuitous; in “Womanlove” most of what the writer has to say is, like the title, banal; “Daylight” is glutted with loaded, but not particularly related, imagery. None of these is totally uninteresting, however–unexpected phrases make them worth looking through. Only the poem about a chop suey joint and high school hangout is boring.”
Of course this made me laugh, and a little bit mad. I’m glad my style has stayed “pretty much” my own. For whose else’s could it be?

One thought on “My Juvenilia Gets Semi-Panned in the Harvard Crimson When I’m an Ungrad

Leave a Reply

