What’s the best book on writing you’ve ever read–and did it actually help you write? Part 2

Jeanie C. Williams Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott, gave me freedom to own the mundane.

Diana Rico One of my absolute faves as well. I’ve used her chapter on writing the Shitty First Draft in coaching blocked writers. Brilliant.

Barbara Mayfield Hands down: If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland. Yes, it made me a writer.

Grant Clauser Triggering Town by Richard Hugo

Cirrelda Snider-Bryan William Stafford – You Must Revise Your Life.

Tanya Taylor Rubinstein Along with many of the books already mentioned, I’d add Inside Story by Dara Marks to the list. It’s ostensibly a book about screenwriting, but what I got from it was an understanding of archetypal structure that could be applied to any story based form.

Theresa Ann Aleshire Williams IF YOU WANT TO WRITE by Brenda Ueland

Janet Brennan For me it was ” Writing Down the Bones.” I read it over 20 years ago. Was already an author at that time but learned so much because that book is great for new writers and oldies like me. (Lol)

Steve Hodge Forget that he’s a horror or pop writer; Stephen King’s “On Writing” is quite good and contains a lot of useful information. I recommend it to writers of any genres.

Miriam Sagan King’s is one of my favorites.

Peter Cherches All the books of Paris Review interviews.

Diana Rico These are all archived online and they are a treasure trove!

Diana Ceres Anything by Natalie Goldberg.

Anne Hillerman David Morrell’s book is sensational

Rachel Ballantine If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland and The War of Art by Stephen Pressfield

Miriam Sagan Love the War of Art–it helped me.

Russell Miller I enjoyed Forster’s Aspects of the Novel (though not strictly a book for writers) — I think mainly because I find him very companionable. And the Paris Review interviews are great (even when the authors are recalcitrant). (PS: Samuel Johnson hated parentheses.)

Arjuna Ranatunga There’s one called “The Artist’s Way”, by Julia Cameron. I have a friend who’s used it. It’s helped him to write & improved his spiritual life too, he says.

Leave a Reply

