Happy New Year from Miriam’s Well

Thank you all for reading! This blog has surpassed my expectations lo these many years. When I started out, I wanted 300 daily readers (because I knew some high school students who had that!). The Well has about 1000 daily subscribers, and another 25,000 annual hits. I can’t help but compare it to the literary magazine FISH DRUM, produced in the 1980s and early 1990s by my household, which had a offset printed run of about 250—and which we were quite pleased with at the time.
It’s been a great daily practice for me, both as writer and curator. The blog lets me respond to the world around me as well as my inner world in a varied way. I still think of it as more literary than topical in the sense of the daily news, but there is some good synergy between the two.
Greatest gratitude to contributors, who allow different voices to be heard here. Miriam’s Well has always been a hybrid–part magazine, part personal blog. Supposedly that’s not good for branding, but it doesn’t seem to have hurt!

For contributors and would-be contributors, I want:
1. To know what you are thinking. Short personal essays and musings are always welcome.
2. What you are seeing. Send odd snapshots, images, text and image.
3. Japanese forms–haiku, tanka, senryu, haibun, haiga, et. al.
4. Creative projects–announcements, updates, process. Something new for you–a photographer’s poem, a novelist’s crochet, etc.
5. Published poets (books, no self pub at this time) who’d like to be interviewed for the 3 Questions section. Send me a note at msagan1035@aol.com
A note on publishing–I am happy to blog published/credited work. I accept most of what is submitted–but not all. I do like to publish poetry, but this will be judged by the standards I’d bring to print–it should be a competent well thought out poem with technique.
I’m also grateful to those of you who send me articles, announcements, and links to things you think will be of interest. I am always looking for guest bloggers–folks who want to contribute on an ongoing basis, but I should know your work first.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Let’s use it as a fresh start for peace in our hearts and our communities.

tumblr_nywdlwI8eu1ujlv0ao1_540

Leckerbaer Pastry Shop in Copenhagen. See all of their cookies here: http://bit.ly/1OFHRCh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year from Miriam’s Well

  1. Thank you! I love your site; you have changed my perspective on poetry and hope to take your poetry class next. when will you teach fiction again?

    Rich Smith

Leave a Reply

