Lust: A Pantoum by Paul Finucan

Lust

The spinning girl’s laughter
still echoes through the cafe
barely in her twenties
a flower in her hat

Still echoes through the cafe
bringing thoughts of Springtime
a flower in her hat
her arms thin and tan

Bringing thoughts of Springtime
a stirring of desire
her arms thin and tan
her blonde curls dancing

A stirring of desire
something old awakened
her blonde curls dancing
her dress short and sleeveless

Something old awakened
surprising and welcome
her dress short and sleeveless
suddenly I am giddy

Surprising and welcome
barely in her twenties
suddenly I am giddy
the spinning girl’s laughter.

 

My name is Paul Finucan. I just moved to New Mexico from Cleveland, Ohio in July of 2015 and live on the North slope of the Ortiz Mountain about 35 minutes South of Santa Fe. I am blessed with a breathtaking view of Santa Fe and the Sangre De Christos from my front porch. I knew in minutes that the Land of Entrapment had me in its grip.

Leave a Reply

