Poetry Month #13: Threshold Of The Oblivious Blossoming by Larry Levis

Threshold Of The Oblivious Blossoming

When I said one blossom desires the air,
Another the shadows, I was free
Of desires.  Beyond the doorsills the café tables

Were empty because it was raining.
The rain was empty as well, & there was no poignancy

Left in it when I looked up at it, falling, & went on
Sitting inside & waiting for my dealer to show up so I could buy
Two grams of crystal methedrine from her, talk for a moment

And finish my coffee.

When I thought of the petals of the magnolia blossom
Flattened by passing traffic to the pavement & the gradual
Discoloration of them, their white like that of communion dresses

Becoming gray & a darker gray moment by moment,
When I knew I wanted them to mean nothing

And suggest everything, desire rushed back into things,
But not into the blossoms, & not into the air.

from The Darkening Trapeze

Thanks to Elizabeth Jacobson for curating this.

2 thoughts on “Poetry Month #13: Threshold Of The Oblivious Blossoming by Larry Levis

Leave a Reply

