Poetry Month #15: Bad, Bad Bodhisatva by Elizabeth Jacobson

Bad, Bad Bodhisatva

Even though I vowed not to kill
I kill upward of 30 key lime green caterpillars
that are eating my hibiscus hedge down to sticks.
This last one, before I stopped
paused its eating,
lifted its mouth,
and turned its head toward the pressure of the scissors
as I was about to snip it in half.
I saw that it saw me
or felt me
or knew that I was about to harm it,
but I killed it,
ashamed of my human nature
as it leads me,
clear-eyed,
into the snare.

 

***

This poem is forthcoming in the Santa Fe Literary Review, fall 2017

One thought on “Poetry Month #15: Bad, Bad Bodhisatva by Elizabeth Jacobson

Leave a Reply

