Hot Springs, Arkansas Poem by Miriam Sagan

I went out
to look for fireflies
but lanterns
lit the ramada
too brightly;
a beautiful large white cat
with pinkish eyes
and piratical black patches
caressed my hand
with his head
and sat patiently
waiting even after
I’d closed the door;
the moon, too, was up
above the tower
of stone
with a slate roof
and someone
unknown
had lit that window
with a red light;
I see your naked back
as you sit at the desk
and tell me
this hot springs town
has everything I love
except the sea

2 thoughts on “Hot Springs, Arkansas Poem by Miriam Sagan

Leave a Reply

