Holocaust Memorial and Town Hall, Slovakia, by Andrew Katz

This short powerful piece was written by my brother-in-law. I’ve known him for almost forty years and I always had some idea of his family’s story, but this brought it home.

***

Holocaust Memorial and Town Hall in the square of Bardejov, Republic of Slovakia. My mother and grandparents abandoned their home here as the Nazis solidified their control of Czechoslovakia in 1938. Owing to the wisdom of my grandmother, who prevailed upon my grandfather to leave town when they did (just in the nick of time), my family is not memorialized as most of the Jews of Bardejov. Though I could find no direct evidence of their life in Bardejov, my presence here, and that of our sons back in the US, affirms the long and growing legacy of their lives.

13522850_10100514954099749_4118623594885527539_o

Andrew Katz

Leave a Reply

