Equinox: A Villanelle By Annabella Farmer

Equinox

I poison me to live, and so I die
with every tiny fire I consume
I am tempted, and a temptress I

Eating pomegranates on the sly
Thanatos will be my nom de plume
I poison me to live, and so I die

If, by some immortal syncope
my sound and syllables are with me entombed
(I am tempted, and a temptress I)

and if, by some unquenchable esprit
I charm the devil- which to be my groom
I poison me to live, and so I die.

Demeter, surely, tended fields of Wry –
the devil-devil what, the devil- whom?
I am tempted, and a temptress I.

Feasting must connote a jubilee
regardless of the guise it may assume –
Poison me to live, and let me die
for I was tempted, and a temptress I

Leave a Reply

