Women’s March!

So emotional and redemptive–here I am with my mini cohort within the larger Delaware Planed Parenthood bus. Visiting friends an easy distance from D.C.

16195319_10211947763346595_8327485293487755510_n
Photo by Hannah Duggan.

We’re at the Mary McLeod Bethune Memorial of all places. I read a biography of her when I was in grade school and always loved her because she was an educator. Maybe I had an intuition I was going to become a teacher–and there weren’t many biographies of people famous for that.

Wikipedia says:

The monument is the first statue erected on public land in Washington, D.C. to honor an African American and a woman. The statue features an elderly Mrs. Bethune handing a copy of her legacy to two young black children. Mrs. Bethune is supporting herself by a cane given to her by President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Mary McLeod Bethune Memorial, Washington, D.C.

Mary McLeod Bethune Memorial, Washington, D.C.

May I just say she isn’t the only person in the photo using a cane. That, and a newish pair of boots (my old ones literally fell apart), were my trusty allies.

March on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

Leave a Reply

