Bipolar: Pantoum by Matt Lewis

Scattered thoughts dot my mind
Random urges that push and pull
Twisting and turning, tangled threads
Jumbled knots that leave me stymied

Random urges that push and pull
Frustrated attempts to organize
Jumbled knots that leave me stymied
Picking away at my sanity

Frustrated attempts to organize
Thoughts that race to and fro
Picking away at my sanity
Sabotaging my happiness

Thoughts that race to and fro
Battering my soul with their constant chatter
Sabotaging my happiness
Pushing me to the edge of the abyss

Battering my soul with their constant chatter
I just want them to stop
Pushing me to the edge of the abyss
Clouding my judgement

I just want them to stop
Peace, please, anything but this constant noise
Clouding my judgement
Blessings tired to curses

Anything but this constant noise
I can’t believe I ever longer for this
Blessings tired to curses
Creativity’s bastard brother on speed

I can’t believe I ever longer for this
I longer for inspiration
Creativity’s bastard brother on speed
Any idea to get the juices flowing

I longer for inspiration
My mind turn to mud
Any idea to get the juices flowing
Pull me from this quagmire

My mind is mud
Sinking, spiraling thoughts
Pull me from this quagmire
And keep me from obsession

Sinking, spiraling thoughts
Drain the happiness from life
Keep me from obsession
Lest my head slips below the surface

Drain the happiness from my life
Clear away the fog
Lest my head slips below the surface
Plant my feet and fight back

Clear away the fog
Search for inspiration
Plant my feet and fight back
Against the sucking morass beneath

Search for inspiration
Anything to strike a spark
Against the sucking morass beneath
Free the wings to fly

Anything to strike a spark
Updrafts that fill my soul
Free the wings to fly
And soar among the clouds of creativity

Updrafts that fill my soul
Twisting, turning, tangles
Soar among the clouds of creativity
Random urges begin to push and pull.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

Leave a Reply

