Who’s Irish?

Who’s Irish? I love that story by Gish Jen, with its complicated answer. Yesterday, everyone in Hot Springs was wearing the green, including the springs.

I’ve long noted the compelling attraction between the Irish and members of my tribe. I won’t speculate as to why–just to say I’m delighted to have my son-in-law’s clan in my life.

Since I’m not Irish, I can’t really say say what it means to be Irish…but from the outside the good parts seem to include the never ending fight against oppression, the spiritual belief in freedom, and the search for justice.

Hot Springs, with its history of healing, currently houses a large program that trains disabled folk to enter the work force. The school also provides students and community with a 3 course lunch–for $1.69, as part of their culinary training.

Cutbacks would end all that. On St Pat’s, protestors made their point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

Leave a Reply

