My advice is-stop taking advice…

Do this, do that…now do this other thing…
Advice seems to be everywhere, particularly on my social media feed. And I’m as guilty as anyone of giving advice. I even made part of my living writing how-to articles for many years. But right now, I’m really sick of advice.
The current slant seems to be…do THIS or ELSE. Get this medical test or die a lingering death. Say just the right thing or be labelled a politically incorrect buffoon. One strike and you are out.
I have a little advice about that! Human life does not really work this way. First of all, there is nothing you can do to reduce a risk to zero. You are going to make mistakes—as a parent, a friend, a professional. You are going to say foolish things and eat things that aren’t good for you and…not much is going to happen. How do I know this? Because I’ve already made numerous mistakes and…not much happened.
Of course, don’t drink and drive. Don’t be cruel to babies and kittens. Be a mensch. But within that context, I advise you to just be yourself.
For example, let’s look at the outpouring of advice about disaster and suffering. You SHOULD care equally about all problems everywhere. You should NOT say someone is in your thoughts and prayers, as it is too facile. Or, you should start praying right now. You SHOULD do whatever the author is suggesting.
Let’s face it, this kind of advice is ridiculous. Have you lost a friend by saying you were thinking of them? Or, conversely, bringing them a casserole? Have you destroyed a relationship with someone different than you by not understanding them perfectly? Unlikely. Same for spouses and children.
We’re really not that fragile. And now I’m going to take a break from giving advice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

2 thoughts on “My advice is-stop taking advice…

Leave a Reply

