Suzanne Vilmain on Raku and Wendell Berry

I got this as an email from the ever amazing Suzanne Vilmain. Her freedom of expression continues to inspire me. Look for her work in the gallery above Pasqual’s. Not to mention on my mantlepiece and my living room fruit crate booksheves.

***

BEFORE DARK / a collaboration between words and ceramics……

I recently enrolled in a  printmaking class that required an intro to drawing….
I responded that I draw with words meaning letterpress but really 
I read/write/print/think/xerox like drawing – like a skipping rock – surface skimming – gesture grabbing –
noticing white space / what’s not there / juxtaposition….

I LOVE WENDELL BERRY’S POETRY
but i wanted to read the poem “Before Dark” w/o having to identify with the male gender of a kingfisher…
so i changed/added “she/her” where wendell used “he/him/his”….

or remove the reference altogether…..
focus on the words that speak to me….

wild in flight
could only have made for joy
like a skipped rock
darker….. dusky….. sudden….
the night had accommodated
led by delight

— this is how i feel about raku….. wild joy skipping sudden accommodated delight!!!!

4 pieces from a series on basket pots now showing at Cafe Pasqual’s Gallery

a thank you to all my teachers/mentors for leading me on the path to raku!!!
even when/if you didn’t know or like or appreciate raku……..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by Miriam Sagan. Bookmark the permalink.

About Miriam Sagan

I'm blogging about poetry, land art, haiku, women artists, road trips, and Baba Yaga at Miriam's Well (https://miriamswell.wordpress.com). The well is ALWAYS looking to publish poetry on our themes, sudden fiction, and guest bloggers and musers.

Leave a Reply

