Survival

Published by

on

I was recently very annoyed by something I read. A well-regarded writer, whose family survived difficult historical circumstances, said something like “No one survives by accident.” And went on to say that survival was an act of creativity, intelligence, and will.
I just can’t agree. Of course survival, in holocaust type situations, might be aided by intelligence, but it often seems to be a matter of luck. At least that is what Primo Levi reported. I also once read an account of a “U Boat”–a paperless and homeless Jewish woman in Nazi Berlin. She said she was helped not by good people doing good deeds but by evil people doing good deeds. That kind of moral ambiguity is important to remember.
My grandmother Sadie came to America. Her sister Etrazy stayed behind because her husband was an imprisoned Bolshevik. He was freed, they were re-united, and eventually killed by Stalin. Or was it Hitler? No one knows.
Shall I blame Etrazy for not surviving, for her idealism, her belief in communal solutions? It turns out she was wrong, or on the wrong side of history. Was she foolish, and Sadie smart? I think not. Each was following the twists and turns of her own life as best she could.
In Yiddish we say: ikh’d ala zeyn mazldik vi klug (I’d rather be lucky than smart). To say our survival is not influenced by the random is to aspire to a level of control not given to human beings. To think otherwise is to end up blaming patients for their diseases, refugees for their historical disasters, everyone for their circumstances.
And I’m certainly not going to blame my family members who couldn’t survive. And that in no way diminishes my gratitude towards those who did.

6 responses to “Survival”

  1. Baro Avatar
    Baro

    I so totally agree with you.

    1. Miriam Sagan Avatar

      And I’m always so happy to hear that from you, as I respect your opinions!

  2. karlapoet Avatar

    Miriam, you are among the wisest people I’ve ever met. Thank for this. 🙏 Karla

    1. Miriam Sagan Avatar

      Thank you for reading!

  3. C.C. Avatar

    Hear, hear. Mir! You provide strong argument against a stance I too have experienced— thanks for speaking out!
    That Yiddish phrase says it all. Bless that language/frame/culture.,
    My own big reckoning with this mentality is when an in-law stated my mother who died of pancreatic cancer at 67 had chosen her own fate with poor lifestyle habits. And my response was to say, well what about all the good choices she made?
    Wish she were around to hear this Yiddish saying.
    You go, Mir! Very good.

    1. Miriam Sagan Avatar

      I know–I hate this blame the sick person approach.. It seems so mean and unsympathetic. Also, not very realistic! Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post

Blog at WordPress.com.