By the Sign of the Haiku Sign

Published by

on

About a year and a half ago, I put up these haiku signs–two on Kathryn Sreet and one on Cortez on Santa Fe’s westside.

img_0654

img_0672

img_0653

The haiku is by Chiyo-ni, a medieval Japanese woman poet. Translation by Miriam Sagan and Isabel Winson-Sagan. Design, fabrication, and installation by Tim Brown and Isabel Winson-Sagan.

As is always the case, things happen around an installation.

One warm evening, I was called over to a group of old timers chatting on my block.

“The sign is because you’re Jewish,” one said.
My immediate neighbor didn’t agree. “It’s because she’s a poet!”
“But why do you say Jewish,” I wanted to know, because I am.
“Because the Jewish holidays are on the new moon,” he insisted correctly.
I don’t know where this knowledge came from, but New Mexico has its crypto-Jews. And its interdenominational friendships.

Other neighbors have a gorgeous orange wall that highlights their harvest of tomatoes, free to all. We call them “The Wall.” They call us “The Sign.”

The thrashers enjoy perching on it.

IMG_1288

IMG_1289

4 responses to “By the Sign of the Haiku Sign”

  1. Michael G. Smith Avatar

    my ‘hood controlled
    by the association deaf
    to the chitchat its stopping

    1. Miriam Sagan Avatar

      Love this!
      The westside remains pretty wild west…

  2. Karen O'Leary Avatar

    What a clever way to share the gift of words. Enjoyed this today!

    Karen

  3. Miriam Sagan Avatar

    Thanks Karen. I keep thinking I’m going to do another round but they are labor intensive.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.