Feature by Michaela Kahn: A Daily Dog

In the spirit of alternative memoirs … I want to introduce the work of Kristin Plucar. Graduate of the MFA program at Idaho State University, Kristin works as the Arts/Industry Coordinator for the Kohler Arts Center in Sheboygan, Wisconsin.  We met many years ago at an artist residency on an organic farm in Wisconsin.  Kristin was the artist liaison and my husband and I were residents.  Each morning we all gathered down in the gardens to plant, weed, and harvest vegetables and in the afternoons we took off to separate corners of the farm to work on our art.

Kristin works in a number of media including clay, drawing, painting, textiles, and multi-media work.  Over the summer I started seeing her “Daily Dog” drawings appearing on Facebook.  Every day there was a new drawing of her dog Kaia sleeping.  Not only did I love seeing Kristin’s work, but over time it felt like these images were a record, a memoir.  I thought these would be perfect to share on Miriam’s Well.

Amongst the images I am including some of Kristin’s thoughts on the pieces.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREI started them as a way for me to do figure studies because that is not my strength, and I wanted something I could accomplish on a regular basis, because my job keeps me fairly busy and I am often pretty exhausted at the end of the day without a lot of creative energy.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREOur dog Kaia is a ready model, and for the most part a good one, since when she is not out for a walk, eating, or trying to play in the house she is sleeping.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREThey are also a good way for me to emphasize my mark-making. For some reason I got hooked on this repetitive hatching technique…it’s a little stiff and maybe doesn’t have enough variety, but I do it and I wanted to do drawings that focus on that technique…having a shorthaired breed works pretty well for that.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREOn a more emotional level, this is a way for me to “know” my other, or connect with my other. I’m a dog person, and its kind of weird living alongside another warm-blooded mammal with a whole different set of needs and thinking process. I’m so curious about her and what she thinks of this life, and how Dan and I fit into it. If I were able to lose myself in my dog’s dream, I think I might understand her more…


Exif_JPEG_PICTUREOne of my flights of fancy is that maybe I am in my dog’s dream now, that this life is all part of the dog’s dream and it’s her spirit that keeps me alive…daydreams on a rainy day…

2 thoughts on “Feature by Michaela Kahn: A Daily Dog

  1. beautiful drawings, while the hatch mark hairs might be stiff, the sentiment of each drawing is full of loving-knowing-her-dog – beautiful

Leave a Reply

